Posted on

On-The-Go Health Tips

I’ve been busy. Like, out-of-my-mind, making-myself-sick, I’m-tired-all-the-time busy. Like, so busy, it makes me feel like this:

Something that I noticed during all of my business is this: It’s INCREDIBLY hard to eat/do healthy things while living life on-the-go! So… *fanfare*

KUNGFOODY PRESENTS: On-The-Go Health Tips!

Classy tea-drinkers

  1. If anything, drink a glass (or two) of water before ANYTHING in the morning. Water is incredibly necessary to the human body. I wake up almost every morning lightheaded, and now I know why. Apparently, while you’re sleeping, you lose a lot of oxygen in your blood. Drinking water first thing in the morning will help you feel energized throughout the rest of your day! And, if you’re like me, it’ll make you pee like Wimbleton!
  2. Grab HEALTHY snacks on your way out the door. Instead of grabbing a bag of chips and a soda before leaving the house (or the supermarket, or the gas station, what have you), snag yourself a healthy snack. A glorious apple. A scrumptious orange. These things will, in the long-run, keep you healthier than if you, say, chose a bag of gummy worms at the stop-n-shop.
  3. Exercise wherever you go. One of the benefits of a life on-the-go is that there are PLENTY of opportunities to exercise. Like my previous post said, there are MANY little ways you can burn calories throughout the day without even breaking a sweat! If you have an office job, get up and walk every 30 minutes. If you don’t have that option, park further away than usual and get that booty walking!
  4. Drink tea instead of coffee. I can’t deny me a Starbucks in the morning! Wanna hear something horrible, though? Most of the coffee you drink from Starbucks (especially mochas and frappachinos) can be FULL of calories! Instead, develop a taste for tea. These days, there are SO many flavors, you should definitely find one that you can at least sip on. Mine is a Tazo chai with a little cream and sugar (not the chai tea latte, which is sadly full of sugar).
  5. Breathe. … Eh. Really, Nat? Breathe? YES. Sometimes, breathing deeply is the best thing you can do for your little blood cells! Every once in a while (meaning: when you remember), take a few minutes to focus on your breathing. Breathe in for five seconds, hold it for a few seconds, and then let it go slowly. Do this a few times, and you’d be doing your body a favor!

Alright, there. Now, go be healthy!

About kungfoody

I’ve watched the movies. Seen the action. Winced at the violence, laughed at the subtitles. But I never thought I’d join the subculture of Chinese martial arts. When I finally did, two or three months ago with my husband, it was a lot different than I expected. What I expected were long laborious hours of training, sweating, crying, muscle pain, bleeding knuckles and the like. What I didn’t expect was that, along with all of those glorious side effects of pushing my body to its limits, I would become friends with my classmates, frequently bonding over the sacred fighting style of kung-fu/wushu, and religiously visiting different restaurants in the area for a celebratory dinner after practice. And so, the inspiration was born. “Kung-Foodie”; the martial arts/where to eat after a good work out blog.

Leave a Reply

